Valley Preferred Spirit of Courage

Valley Preferred Spirit of Courage — Annual Awards Dinner

2017 VPSOC Nomination Form no envelope-1Valley Preferred, the Burn Prevention Network and the Regional Burn Center and Burn Recovery at Lehigh Valley Hospital launched the Valley Preferred Spirit of Courage Award Program in 2005 to honor people in eastern and northeastern Pennsylvania and western New Jersey who risked their lives to save others from a burn or death by fire. The program recognizes individuals and groups that have done an outstanding job of promoting fire safety or burn prevention education.

Tuesday, October 2nd, 2018, 5-9PM   —   Lehigh Valley Hospital – Muhlenberg

To make reservations:

1) Fill out the online RESERVATION FORM  (Once you’ve submitted the reservation form you’ll be redirected back to this page and you can  pay for your reservations using the button below)

2) Choose number of seats and click “buy now”

Number of Seats

Download/Print 2018 INVITATION 



Natalia Ponce de Leon

2018 Keynote Speaker, Natalia Ponce de Leon

Are You a Partner In Prevention?

For over 10 years the Burn Prevention Network has recognized groups, organizations and individuals who deliberately reach out to educate the community, or targeted groups within the community in fire safety and burn prevention. We acknowledge these educational leaders as “Partners in Prevention” at our annual Valley Preferred Spirit of Courage.

Public safety, including fire safety and burn prevention education, are team sports and the Burn Prevention Network wants you, or your organization on the team! Unlike the NFL, we don’t have a player cap. In this lifesaving endeavor, the more the merrier!

Please consider submitting a “Partner in Prevention” nomination this year. Nominations are due by May 4, 2018.

What must our group, or members of our group do to qualify? Here is a list of activities that support fire safety and burn prevention:

  • Conduct educational programs for targeted groups (eg – students, older adults, new parents, etc.)
  • Conduct home safety assessments
  • Provide and install Smoke Alarms for homes in need
  • Conduct a safety awareness campaign for your community
  • Join and actively participate in a community/regional safety coalition (Safe Kids, etc.)

Meet our 2017 Award Recipients!

Spirit of Courage Award Recipients:

Rick Cruz, Jennifer Dixon, Mavis Dixon, Aaron Young, Sgt. Daniel Tingle

Michael Surrell

Captain Douglas Nothstein, Lt. Justin Smith

Lt. Dennis Devoe, Firefighter Nathan Martin

The President’s Award:

Harrisburg Bureau of Fire

Phoenix Award:

Santo Piccolomini



2017 Award Recipient Videos



Continue reading